Print    Close This Window
Mustang Senior To Serve On 2019-2020 Oklahoma City Youth Council

(Mustang, Oklahoma – August 15, 2019) – Eighteen Oklahoma City high school students took office Tuesday as members of the 2019-20 Oklahoma City Youth Council, kicking off nine months of hands-on education in public service, and among those is Mustang High School Senior, Desiree Rickett.

The city of Oklahoma City (OKC) is made up of eight wards, each with two representatives who are joined by two at-large representatives.  Rickett will represent Mustang for Ward 3. The Youth Council will work with the OKC City Council member in their Ward, along with City staff, to learn about the challenges and successes of municipal government. The Youth Council will also help address issues affecting Oklahoma City’s youth in a series of meetings and seminars.Rickett picture

The complete Council for 2019-2020 are:

  • Nicholas Sayegh (at-large), Western Heights High School senior

  • Katherine Hill (at-large), Bishop McGuinness Catholic High School senior

  • Samuel Emesiani (Ward 1), Putnam City High School senior

  • Cameron Pennington (Ward 1), Putnam City West High School senior

  • Francisco Hernandez (Ward 2), Putnam City High School junior

  • Maya Shadid (Ward 2), Classen School of Advanced Studies senior

  • Jorge Peña (Ward 3), Western Heights High School senior

  • Desiree Rickett (Ward 3), Mustang High School senior

  • Lane Youngblood (Ward 4), Carl Albert High School senior

  • Mackenzie Reeves (Ward 4), Moore High School senior

  • Julieta Ibarra (Ward 5), Santa Fe South High School senior

  • Brinkli Abbitt (Ward 5), Southmoore High School senior

  • Jesus Barragan (Ward 6), Southeast High School senior

  • Fidel Fraire (Ward 6), Classen School of Advanced Studies senior

  • Teresa Sorrels (Ward 7), Mount St. Mary Catholic High School senior

  • Fiza Sheikh (Ward 7), Edmond Santa Fe High School senior

  • Gladys Green (Ward 8), Edmond North High School senior

  • Megan Neaves (Ward 8), Deer Creek High School senior

These Youth Council members were introduced during the OKC City Council meeting on Tuesday, August 13, 2019.  Applications for next year’s Youth Council will be available in early 2020.

About Oklahoma City Youth Council

The Youth Council is sponsored by the City of Oklahoma City and is jointly administered with the Youth Leadership Exchange. Debbie Forshee and police Maj. Dexter Nelson are program co-chairs.

About Mustang Public Schools

The Mustang Public School District covers 69 square miles in Oklahoma and Canadian counties with the City of Mustang at its center. The district is the largest employer in Canadian County, with more than 1,000 certified and support employees. Voted one of Oklahoma’s Top Workplaces for the past two years, the school district offers a comprehensive compensation package for full-time employees, in addition to a satisfying working environment. There are eight elementary schools (grades PreK-4), three intermediate centers (grades 5-6), three middle schools (grades 7-8), one high school (grades 9-12), and an educational center which houses pre-kindergarten and alternative education.
Facebook/Twitter - @MustangSchools

Instagram - @MustangPS